December 2, 2022

When will Liga MX resume and what is the format for the second phase?


As the curtain falls on the 2022 MX League season with the champions crowned at the Estadio Hidalgo in Pachuca, our focus will be on the FIFA World Cup 2022 which kicks off in Qatar on November 20.

Full screen

Pachuca fans celebrateDavid Martinez PelcastreEFE

Tata Martino’s Mexican side are opposed in Group C and will face Poland, Argentina and Saudi Arabia in the winter competition. The final match will take place on December 18 at 80,000 Lusail Stadium with Qatar’s hosting of the World Cup forcing major leagues around the world to alter their schedules to accommodate the competition.

With the 2022 Apertura ending on Sunday, Liga MX fans will have to wait until early January (2023) for their next dose of domestic league action as the The Clausura 2023 is launched.

Nemesio Diez Stadium

Full screen

Nemesio Diez Stadium Alex CruzEFE

Clausura 2023 dates and format

The new season kicks off on January 5-6 with the second leg of the final scheduled for June 4. 18 teams will take part in the competition with the format retaining that of the Apertura with the top 12 teams advancing to the post-season stage. Teams finishing first through fourth will advance directly to the quarter-finals, with fifth through 12th being involved in the repechaje or wildcard round which is played over a match with the higher-seeded teams gaining the home advantage .

The eight-team quarter-finals and semi-finals are then staged home and away, with the final matches being played at the end of May and early June.

At present, there is still no relegation from Liga MX to the second tier Liga Expansion MX or promotion from the second division to the elite which sees the 18 teams that participated in the Apertura 2022 in action for the Clausura 2023.

Closing 2023: participants

  • America
  • Atlas
  • Atletico de San Luis
  • Cruz Azul
  • Chivas
  • Juarez
  • Leon
  • Mazatlan
  • Monterrey
  • Necaxa
  • Pachuca
  • Puebla
  • cougars
  • Querétaro
  • Santos
  • tigers
  • Tijuana
  • Toluca

Source link