June 30, 2022

What to watch: 2022 PBR World Finals format breakdown and implications for the title race

From: Justin Felisko

PUEBLO, Colo. – The 2022 PBR World Finals begin Friday night at Dickies Arena. This year’s finals will feature seven days of competition spread over two weekends (eight rounds in total) – a format the PBR last used in 2009.

In preparation for the PBR World Finals, here’s a refresher on the new format, available World Points and other highlights regarding the 2022 World Championship races.

All the action from Dickies Arena will air on CBS Sports Network starting Friday night with Round 1 (8 p.m. ET).

Rounds 1-3 will take place May 13-15, while Rounds 4-8 will take place May 19-22.


At the 2022 PBR World Finals, a rider can earn a maximum of 1,272 World Points by winning every lap (80 World Points per lap won), event average (560 World Points), and scoring 90 or more every round in an 8-for-8 performance. Of course, this exact scenario is highly unlikely.

World No. 1 Daylon Swearingen begins the final with 884.49 world points. Therefore, mathematically, every rider competing in the World Finals is still alive in the race for the World Title.

For a more realistic look, the top 18 riders in the World Rankings are separated by an average World Final victory (560 points).

World Points for Average Event Ranking at the 2022 World Finals

4. 150
5. 134
6. 114
8. 62
9:30 a.m.
10. 15

A round won at the World Finals is equivalent to winning the event average in a two-day regular season event (not including round wins and race score bonuses). Therefore, you can watch World Finals containing the same World Point value as almost eight regular season events combined.

World Points for Round Ranking at World Finals 2022

4. 32
5. 28
6. 24
7. 20
8. 16
9. 12

Racers will also earn points for their race scores. Rides of 70 to 79.75 points will earn seven points, 80 to 89.75 will earn eight points, and rides of 90 to 99.75 will earn nine bonus points.

Swearingen drew cool whip (5-1, UTB) for Round 1 Friday night at Dickies Arena, while No. 2 Joao Ricardo Vieira take flapjack (1-0, UTB).


One thing that always plays a part in the PBR World Finals is which rounds of the competition are draws and which are repechage rounds.

For Round 1, Round 3, Round 4 and Round 6, rider/bull matchups will be drawn. Rounds 2, 5 and 7 will be by repechage. The previous round will determine the draft order of highest score at buckoff time.

The bulls for the 12-man championship round will be pre-selected and the order will be 12th to 1st based on the overall score.

Friday night will be an extremely important tone for the finals. The top finishers in the round have the greatest chance of selecting a bull that matches their style, which could give them a 2-on-2 start to crushing finals.


The YETI World Champion Bull race and its $100,000 overall bonus will come down to three outs at the PBR World Finals inside Dickies Arena.

woopa and ride solo are tied with a World Champion Bull average (Top 6 outs) of 46.29 regular season points.

The YETI 2022 World Champion bull will be the animal with the highest average bull score among his top six regular season outs and two outs at the PBR World Finals.

Woopaa will be looking to become the sixth bull in PBR history to win back-to-back world titles, while Ridin Solo will be looking to win his first.

The top bucking bulls competing in the finals will receive three outs, and contenders for world champions can drop their lowest score in Fort Worth. The 2022 YETI Bull of the Finals will be the top bull based on all three scores and will receive a $25,000 bonus.


Bob Mitchell and Clayton Sellars enter the World Finals as the only two rookies in contention for Rookie of the Year, but that could change if the Velocity Tour wild card shows up Brandon Davis, Casey Coulter Where Josh Frost break into the Top 30 of the world rankings during the eight rounds of competition.

For now, Mitchell and Sellars are the two favorites, with Mitchell holding a slim 38.92 point lead over Sellars heading into the first round.

Mitchell makes his World Finals debut against gangster rock (2-0, UTB), while Sellars has a Round 1 clash against. Big heart (1-2, UTB).


Eduardo Aparecido versus. Wilson (7.94 seconds in Tulsa, Oklahoma)
Joao Henrique Lucas versus. Kingdom (3.16 seconds in Little Rock, Arkansas)
Rafael Henrique dos Santos versus. WSM Wicked Wishes (85.5 points last year at UTB’s regular season event in Las Vegas)


CBS Sports Network (CBSSN) will broadcast every long leg of the PBR World Finals, while Sunday’s championship round will be broadcast live on CBS Television Network. The coverage schedule is:

• Friday, May 13 at 8 p.m. EDT on CBSSN (Round 1)
• Saturday, May 14 at 8 p.m. EDT on CBSSN (Round 2)
• Sunday, May 15 at 3 p.m. EDT on CBSSN (Round 3)
• Thursday, May 19 at 10 p.m. EDT on CBSSN (Round 4)
• Friday, May 20 at 10 p.m. EDT on CBSSN (Round 5)
• Saturday, May 21 at 9 p.m. EDT on CBSSN (Round 6)
• Sunday, May 22 at 10 a.m. EDT on CBSSN (Round 7)
• Sunday, May 22 at noon EDT on CBS Television Network (championship round)

RidePass on Pluto TV will feature replays of the Global Finals within 72 hours of each round of competition from Fort Worth, TX, along with additional content offerings over the next two weeks.

Follow Justin Felisko on Twitter @jfelisko

Photo courtesy of André Silva/Bull Stock Media

© 2022 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

Source link