August 12, 2022

Schedule, format, teams, results and TV channel

The 2021 Davis Cup Finals, which is due to take place from November 25 to December 5, will feature 18 teams that will attempt to win one of the most prestigious tournaments in men’s tennis. This will be the second edition after the change of 2019 format.

This time, the finals will take place in three different cities: Madrid, Turin and Innsbruck. Each city will host two groups and the quarter-finals, while the semi-finals and the final will be played in the Spanish capital.

The current champions are Spain, which are still among the favorites despite Rafa Nadalthe absence. However, Serbia, with Novak Djokovic, and Canada, finalists of the last edition, are also the best candidates. United States Team will be looking to win the tournament again after 14 years.

2021 Davis Cup finals: which teams participate?

This year’s finals will feature 18 teams: 12 qualified, last year’s four semi-finalists and two wild card nations. They are divided into six groups of three. The 12 qualified are: Australia, Austria, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Kazakhstan, Sweden and United States.

During this time, Spain, Canada, Great Britain and the Russian Tennis Federation qualified after reaching the semi-finals of the last edition. On the other hand, France and Serbia received wild cards to complete the 18 teams.

2021 Davis Cup Finals: format

The teams are divided into six round robin groups made up of three teams. All draws will consist of two singles matches and one doubles match. All matches onere the best of the deciding three sets.

Then the six group winners, along with the two second-place teams with the best records based on sets and games won, will advance to the quarter-finals. Finally, the winner of the Davis Cup will be determined by a knockout phase.

group A

Russian tennis federation

Group B


Group C

Czech Republic

Group D


Group E

United States

Group F


2021 Davis Cup Finals: program and TV channel

Group stage

Thursday, November 25: group stage (10 a.m. ET)

France vs Czech Republic – Group C, TV: CBS Sports App
Canada vs Sweden – Group B, TV: CBS Sports App
Croatia vs Australia – Group D, TV: PlutoTV

Friday, November 26: group stage (10 a.m. ET)

Serbia vs Austria – Group F, TV: Tennis Channel, Pluto TV
Spain vs Ecuador – Group A, TV: CBS Sports App
USA vs Italy – Group E, TV: CBS Sports App

Saturday 27 November: Group stage

4 a.m. ET – TV: CBS Sports app

France vs Great Britain – Group C
Great Britain vs Czech Republic – Group C
Australia vs. Hungary – Group D
Kazakhstan vs Sweden – Group B

Not before 10 a.m.ET

Serbia vs Germany – Group F, TV: CBS Sports App
Russian Tennis Federation vs Ecuador – Group A, TV: CBS Sports App
Italy vs Colombia – Group E, TV: PlutoTV

Sunday November 28: Group stage

4 a.m. ET – TV: CBS Sports app

Canada vs. Kazakhstan – Group B
Croatia vs. Hungary – Group D

Not before 10 a.m.

Germany vs Austria – Group F, TV: CBS Sports App
Spain vs. Russian Tennis Federation – Group A, TV: CBS Sports App
USA vs. Colombia – Group E, TV: CBS Sports Network and PlutoTV


Monday, November 29 at 10 a.m.ET
Winner of Group D vs. Winner of Group E
Television: CBS Sports Network

Tuesday, November 30 – 10 a.m.ET
Winner Group C vs. Winner Group F
Television: CBS Sports Network

Wednesday, December 1 – 10 a.m.ET
Winner Group B vs. Second Best 1 or 2
Television: CBS Sports Network

Thursday, December 2 – 10 a.m.ET
Winner Group A vs. Second best 1 or 2
Television: CBS Sports Network

Semi finals

Friday, December 3 – 10 a.m.ET
Semi-finalist (bottom half) vs. Semi-finalist (lower half)
Television: CBS Sports Network

Saturday, December 4 – 7 a.m.ET
Semi-finalist (upper half) vs. Semi-finalist (upper half)
Television: CBS Sports app


Sunday, December 5 – 10 a.m.ET
Finalist vs Finalist
Television: CBS Sports Network

Source link