December 2, 2022

Pac-12 Announces Change to Pac-12 Baseball Tournament Format


SAN FRANCISCO- The Pac-12 today announced a format change for the Pac-12 Baseball Tournament, expanding the field to nine teams and moving to pool play. There will be three teams in each pool, with each team playing two pool matches. The 2023 tournament is scheduled for May 23-27, 2023 at Scottsdale Stadium, Tuesday through Saturday.

“Even with the great success of the first Pac-12 Baseball Tournament, we believe these adjustments will make the event even better for our student-athletes and our fans,” the Pac-12 Deputy Commissioner said. Therese Gould. “Moving to a maximum of three games per day will allow for staggered tee times at times that will create the best playing conditions for student-athletes as well as the best atmosphere for our fans. The addition of a ninth Team to Tournament also expands the playoff experience for another university while giving that team potential access to a spot in the NCAA Tournament.It also allows as many teams as possible to be well prepared to participate in the tournament. NCAA the following weekend.

Group matches will take place on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, with three matches per day. Each pool will play a round robin.

The three group winners will advance to Friday’s knockout semi-finals with a Wild Card team. The Wild Card will be determined by the best record of the non-progressing teams. Any tiebreakers will be awarded to the highest ranked team.

The semi-final match-ups will pit the higher-ranked team against the lower-ranked team on one side with the second-highest and second-lowest on the other. However, teams from the same group will not compete in the semi-finals.

Group A will consist of seeds #1, #6 and #9 with group B consisting of seeds #2, #5 and #8. Seeds #3, #4 and #7 will compete in Pool C.

Pool A Pool B Pool C
Seeds #1, #6, #9 #2, #5, #8 #3, #4, #7

Each team in the tournament is guaranteed two games, while the two teams that qualify for Saturday’s championship will play four games. All teams will have at least one rest day.

Stanford won the first Pac-12 baseball tournament in 2022 as the No. 1 seed, beating No. 2 seed Oregon State 9-5 in the championship game. The Cardinal outscored their opponents 35-20 in their four games.

“I’m really excited for the new format which will make for another exciting week of baseball in Scottsdale,” said Stanford Baseball Director Clarke and Elizabeth Nelson. david esquer, who has been involved in Pac-12 baseball for over 30 years as a player and coach. “We train and work hard throughout the season to prepare for the playoffs, and adding another team allows more Pac-12 programs to experience that atmosphere that will put the conference in a better position when the NCAA Tournament will begin.”

The tournament will take place over five days at the San Francisco Giants’ spring training stadium. The top nine teams in Conference standings (based on winning percentage in overall Conference play) at the end of the regular season will earn berths in the Pac-12 Baseball Tournament, from which the champion will receive the Conference’s automatic bid for the NCAA Tournament. . The original Pac-12 deal with the city of Scottsdale runs through 2024.

The Pac-12 is coming off a season in which five teams won NCAA tournament deals, including two regional hosts. Stanford represented the Pac-12 in the College World Series for the 18th time and the second consecutive season.

The Pac-12 programs have combined to win 29 of 75 NCAA baseball championships all-time, 15 more than the next closest conference. The league also has nine Golden Spikes Award winners, the second most ever, and paces its peers with eight MLB No. 1 draft picks, including in four of the last 12 draft picks and two of the last three. college players selected first.

USC has more NCAA titles than any other school in the country with 12 and ARIZONA STATE is fourth with five. Four other Pac-12 schools have won at least two national titles, including ARIZONA (four), OREGON STATE (three), CALIFORNIA (two) and STANFORD (two). Pac-12 programs represent six of the 15 schools that have won multiple college baseball national championships, twice the number of schools in any other conference.

Source link