May 18, 2022

NBA All-Star Slam Dunk Contest rules, scoring, format, judges, past winners

The Slam Dunk Contest is often the highlight of NBA All-Star Weekend and the 2022 Slam Dunk Contest is sure to be one you won’t want to miss.

This year’s dunk contest features four top players: Cole Anthony of Orlando, Jalen Green of Houston, Obi Toppin of New York and Juan Toscano-Anderson of Golden State.

Before the contest, here’s everything you need to know about how the contest works.

CONTINUED: Watch the NBA All-Star Game Live with Sling TV (Free 3-Day Trial)

NBA All-Star Slam Dunk Contest Rules, Scoring, Format and Judges

NBA All-Star Slam Dunk Contest Rules, Scoring, and Format

The NBA All-Star Slam Dunk Contest is a two-round competition in which five judges score each dunk on a scale of six to 10. The highest score a dunk can receive is a 50 while a 30 is the lowest score possible.

All four contestants will get two dunks in the first round. The two players with the highest combined score for their two dunks will advance to the final round.

If a tie is to be broken in the first round, the advancing dunkers will be determined by “judges’ choice”. The judges will be asked to choose which dunker(s) advance by raising a card bearing the dunker’s name.

The two finalists each get two dunks in the final round. The dunker with the highest combined score for both dunks in the final round will be crowned the NBA All-Star Slam Dunk Contest champion.

If there is a tie after the final round, a dunk-off will take place to determine the champion. If there is still a tie after the one-dunk dunk-off, the champion will be determined by “judges’ choice”.

In both rounds, each player must complete their dunk in three attempts. According to the NBA, an attempt is defined as the player controlling the basketball and moving it to the edge.

NBA All-Star Slam Dunk Contest Judges

Judges for the 2022 NBA All-Star Slam Dunk Contest have yet to be announced.

NBA ALL-STAR ROSTERS 2022: Full results, draft picks for Team LeBron vs. Team Durant

What time does the NBA All-Star Dunk Contest start?

  • Dated: Saturday February 19
  • Time: 8 p.m. ET | 5 p.m. ET

The NBA All-Star Dunk Contest is the third and final event of All-Star Saturday Night, which begins at 8 p.m. ET. The Dunk Contest will begin after the Skills Challenge and 3-Point Contest are completed.

What channel is the NBA All-Star Dunk Contest airing on?

The 2022 NBA All-Star Game will be broadcast live on TNT, along with the Rising Stars Game, Skills Challenge, 3-Point Contest and Slam Dunk Contest. In the US, you can stream all NBA All-Star Weekend events on or with Sling TV, which offers a three-day free trial.

Brian Anderson, Reggie Miller, Dwyane Wade and Stephanie Ready will be on call all Saturday night. Kenny “the Jet” Smith will join them to commentate the Slam Dunk Contest.

Past NBA All-Star Slam Dunk Contest Winners

Year Winner Team Location
2021 Anfernee Simons Trail Blazers Atlanta
2020 Derrick Jones Jr. Heat Chicago
2019 Hamidou Diallo thunder Charlotte
2018 Donovan Mitchell Jazz Los Angeles
2017 Glenn Robinson III Pacers New Orleans
2016 Zach LaVine timber wolves Toronto
2015 Zach LaVine timber wolves New York City
2014 John Wall Wizards New Orleans
2013 Terrence Ross raptors Houston
2012 Jeremy Evans Jazz Orlando
2011 Blake Griffin Mowers Los Angeles
2010 nate robinson Knicks dallas
2009 nate robinson Knicks Phoenix
2008 Dwight Howard Magic New Orleans
2007 Gerald Green Celtics Vegas
2006 nate robinson Knicks Houston
2005 Josh Smith falcons denver
2004 Fred Jones Pacers Los Angeles
2003 Jason Richardson Warriors Atlanta
2002 Jason Richardson Warriors philadelphia cream
2001 Desmond Mason SuperSonics washington d.c.
2000 Vince Carter raptors Oakland
1997 Kobe Bryant Lakers Cleveland
1996 brent barry Mowers San Antonio
1995 Harold Miner Heat Phoenix
1994 Rider of Isiah timber wolves Minnesota
1993 Harold Miner Heat Salt Lake City
1992 Cedric Ceballos Suns Orlando
1991 Dee Brown Celtics Charlotte
1990 Dominique Wilkin hawks Miami
1989 Kenny Walker Knicks Houston
1988 Michael Jordan Bulls Chicago
1987 Michael Jordan Bulls Seattle
1986 Webb falcons dallas
1985 Dominique Wilkin falcons Indianapolis
1984 Larry Nence suns denver

Source link