August 12, 2022

Everything you need to know about the format, races and teams

You will love it or you will hate it. No, not Marmite, we’re talking about the Shergar Cup.

It certainly seems to be dividing horse racing fans, but the team competition is one of the most popular fixtures on the UK summer calendar.


What it lacks in top-tier renewals, it more than makes up for in its uniqueness as organizers originally intended it to be the horse racing equivalent of the Ryder Cup.

If you don’t have any Shergar Cup fog or just want to find out about this year’s meeting, you’ll find all the key details below.

2022 Shergar Cup format

The Shergar Cup is a unique racing day at Ascot where jockeys compete in teams based on geography and gender. There are 10 riders in each race on the card, and the first five runs at home score points for their jockey’s team. The team with the most points after the last race of the day wins the Shergar Cup, which is a silver trophy of the legendary Shergar.

Winner: 15 dots
Second: 10 dots
Third: 7 dots
Fourth: 5 dots
Fifth: 3 points

Shergar Cup 2022 Teams

A total of 16 jockeys are divided into four teams in the Shergar Cup, which are Great Britain and Ireland, Europe, Rest of the World and Ladies. The teams for the Shergar Cup 2022 are as follows:

Great Britain and Ireland: Jamie Spencer, Danny Tudhope, Neil Callan and Kieran Shoemark
Europe: Frankie Dettori, Antonio Fresu, René Piechulek and José-Luis Martinez
Rest of the world: Takeshi Yokoyama, Christophe Lemaire, Kerrin McEvoy and Jason Collett
ladies: Hayley Turner, Nicola Currie, Hollie Doyle and Emma-Jayne Wilson

2022 Shergar Cup Races

The Shergar Cup initially comprised six races but the card was expanded to eight contests in 2022.

1:00 p.m.: Dubai Duty Free Shergar curtain raiser classified stakes
1:35 p.m .: Dubai Duty Free full of surprises Ranked issues
2:10 p.m.: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Dash
2:45 p.m.: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Stayers
3:20 p.m.: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Challenge
3:55 p.m.: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Mile
4:30 p.m.: Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Classic
5:05 p.m. Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Sprint

You can run the rule on racers and runners on our sleek Racecards page or you can head to to see the latest odds.


The latest racing odds are now on

The Paddy Power Guide to Safer Gambling – Everything You Need to Know