June 30, 2022

All About NET: Exam Format, Eligibility, Fees

The National Educational Testing Office of the University Grants Commission (UGC) administers the National Eligibility Test (NET) to determine eligibility for conference scholarships and the award of Junior Research Fellowships (JRF) to Indian nationals in order to ensure minimum standards for those entering teaching and research. professions.

The UGC was commissioned to conduct the eligibility test for lecturer positions by the Government of India through a notification in 1988. As a result, the UGC organized the first nationwide eligibility test, which was divided into two parts and was common to both the speakership and the JRF. CBSE conducted UGC-NET across the country until 2018, and the National Testing Agency (NTA) now administers UGC-NET.


You have successfully voted

Humanities (including languages), social sciences, criminalistics, environmental sciences, computer science and its applications and electronic sciences are among the subjects tested. This is a test used to assess whether Indian nationals are eligible for positions such as ‘assistant professor’, ‘junior research scholarship’ and ‘assistant professor’ in Indian universities and colleges. Apart from these positions, candidates who pass the exam can apply for PhD programs in reputable Indian institutions and universities. Exams are usually held twice a year, in June and December. The JRF is a five-year fellowship open to applicants who wish to undertake research. JRFs are awarded to the most deserving applicants who have met NET’s eligibility criteria for the lecturer position, provided they have requested the JRF on their application form. Candidates who pass the eligibility test are subject to the standards and regulations for recruitment of assistant professors established by the university/college/state government, if applicable.

Which universities use NET scores?

More than 80 universities recognize the UGC NET scorecard to provide relevant options to applicants. NET applicants should have a general idea of ​​the colleges they wish to apply to.

Here are the best PhD colleges in India that accept UGC NET scores: University of Allahabad, University of Delhi, National Institute of Technology (NIT) Trichy, University of Calcutta, ICFAI Dehradun University, HKBK College of Engineering Bangalore, SRM Amravati University , etc.

Is it online or offline?

UGC NET takes place according to the Computer Based Test (CBT) method in several teams according to the schedule indicated.

Where are the centers?

The NTA has built and created a network of test practice centers for test takers, especially in remote and rural areas, to enable them to practice and feel comfortable doing CBT in accordance with the rules of the Ministry of Education.

The NET-JRF exam will be held at 541 centers across different cities as per the NTA. The test is held in all major cities including Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Kanpur, Bhopal, Kolkata, Jammu, Udaipur, Hyderabad, Coimbatore, Indore, Surat, Srinagar and others. While filling the application form, candidates should prioritize their exam city preferences for NET-JRF 2022 as each center has limited places on a given date to take the test. You can check the additional information while completing the online application.

NET Format

Two papers will make up the UGC-NET exam in 2022. There will be no break between the two papers, which will each contain objective-type multiple-choice questions. In paper 1, there will be 50 questions for 100 points. The purpose of the Paper I questions is to assess the candidate’s teaching/research abilities. It will be widely used to assess the candidate’s ability to reason, reading comprehension, divergent thinking and general awareness. The second paper will consist of 100 questions for 200 points. This will assess domain knowledge and is based on the candidate’s chosen topic. All questions must be answered within three hours (180 minutes).

The questionnaire will only be available in English and Hindi. In terms of the scoring system, the candidate will receive two points for each correct answer, with no negative marks for incorrect answers.

How much is the fee for the NET?

Applicants in the general category must pay a sum of 1100? to register for the UGC-NET/JRF 2022 exam, while Gen-EWS/OBC-NCL and SC/ST/PwD category candidates need to pay a fee of 550? and 275, respectively. The UGC-NET/JRF 2022 application fee can be paid online by credit/debit/UPI card or net banking.

Eligibility criteria

Aspirants should review the eligibility criteria before completing the NET/JRF application form to see if they are eligible. Candidates who have obtained at least 55% (without rounding) on ​​a master’s degree or equivalent examination from universities/institutions recognized by UGC are eligible to take this test. Applicants from the non-creamy layer/SC/ST/PwD)/third sex group who have achieved at least 50% in a master’s degree or comparable examination are eligible to take this test.

Candidates in a Master’s or equivalent program, candidates who have passed their aptitude exam for the Master’s (last year) and have not yet received their results, or candidates whose aptitude exams have been postponed are eligible for this test. However, such candidates will be admitted on a provisional basis and will only be considered qualified for JRF/assistant professor eligibility after passing their master’s degree or equivalent examination with the required percentage. But if these applicants do not complete their masters or equivalent test within two years of receiving their NET result, they will be disqualified.

Source link